Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Which Upper Receiver?

Chuck Merriam

I am gathering for a new 3 gun upper and want to get some input on the (no forward assist) receiver. I have a JP 18" Supermatch barrel on the way with the Low mass stainless inerds...I have a nice Carbon fiber FF handguard...so the only thing left is the receiver. I have been considering the DPMS Triple Rail or something you guys think might be cooler/better. B)

Thanks,

Chuck

Which one are you looking at? "Tri-Mount Flattop" (FTT-02) ? It seems like it always has the FA, but you can but it stripped and put in your own (FTT-01). I was looking at the 'normal' Hi-Rider, but have yet to try one, to see if it migt be too high.

I think it really just matters how your sight picture is.

For coolness, I think the open flattop looks better :) The Tri, looks a little bulky.

We are not ignoring you, it just sometimes takes a few days to get an answer on some questions.

I have no experience with the DPMS Triple Rail. It does look bulky and too high for a good low scope mount to me. The A3 and the Lo-Pro seem like a better 3 gun choices because the rail is low and fast ;-) DPMS is a good vendor choice for the support they put back into the sport and the quality of their stuff.

I do wonder why you are not just getting a JP upper receiver since you are useing mostly JP parts. In fact, why not just buy a pre-built JP upper with their handguard and enjoy a bolt-on formula 1 race machine.

--

Regards,

Edited by George

For me, the rail on a flattop needs to be as low as possible (allowing for scope objective clearance of course). With the ACOG I run, or anything without clearance issues, the lower, the better :-)

If the center of the optic is right at the same height as iron sights, then your cheek weld and positions will be transferrable to iron sighted AR's (which I shoot sometimes).