Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Improving X5 trigger

jsykes

So I just bought an X5 and the trigger sucks.  I work in a shop and had been thinking of getting one for a couple weeks. I had played with several of our stock guns and the triggers were all very nice.  When I decided to grab one last night, the ones that had already been opened were all gone, but since all of them felt the same, I didnt think there was any reason to open a factory sealed one and test it before buying.

My fault, I was wrong, as the trigger I ended up with sucks.  Super disappointed.  its stiff and really gritty and creepy.  Not the nice smooth and crisp break that the others I had experienced had. So taking apart and lubing it didnt seem to help and it doesnt seem to be the trigger assembly, but must be in the striker or safety.  Just moving the striker sounds and feels gritty.

So the question is how can I clean this up and make the factory parts feel more like all the others I played with. I'm sure it will eventually have a GG kit in it, but I'd rather not drop that money immediately after just buying the gun and knowing that the factory trigger can be a lot better than the one I seemed to get.  Any help appreciated.

I’d say that most likely those open ones have just been played around with enough that the trigger feels a little more broken in. I’ve done some polishing to mine and added a pelt2 and still nothing seems to effect how it feels more than continuing to work the trigger. Both dry and at the range. 

Edited by Daemunx1

Mine was pretty similar and figured out how to get a pretty great trigger. I polished everything that touched or rubbed, it was quite a bit. The biggest hiccup I found was the striker interface to the sear. The striker face that catches the sear, I refaced that and straighten it out so it catches flat and gets a smooth clean drop. I also left the round spring out from the safety lever since it was jus adding additional force.