Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

3 Gun Scope

2005 Vette

I need some feedback from some experienced 3 gunners. I am just getting into 3 gun. I have a Glock 34, Mossberg 930 JM, and an Armalite M153GN 18”.However I’m struggling with which optic to purchase. I have done many hours of research, and watched lots of video’s on YouTube. My question is what is the most important factor, Glass or magnification? You all started at some point , over the years how do most shooters evolved with reticle?  I have researched Primary arms Vortex Strike Eagle and Burris RT6. Do you wish you would have spent more to begin with, like Steiner P4xi or  Vortex Viper. I’m having some heartburn with going all in right away with a Razor. Guys I would greatly appreciate your experiences and feedback. Thanks in advance. Jim

If you are primarily shooting bay matches with short range targets I might suggest a red dot type of sight. If you will be shooting field matches and reaching out to targets a good 1-6 would be perfect. Of the 3 you mentioned, I would choose the Burris. I shoot with a Burris 1-4, and sometimes I wish it were a 1-6 or even better a 1-8.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have a viper pst 1-4 and I had a strike eagle 1-6 but currently run a primary arms 1-8. I really like the pa but once you look through a higher end 1-8 or 1-6 it will make you spoiled and realize the cheaper scopes typically don’t compare. With this being said, my pa is still on my 3 gun rifle and has served me just fine and will remain there until my other priorities for upgrading are met. Then I may go to a higher end vortex or Burris. The higher end glass makes a bigger difference and is easier on the eyes on a lower power scope then a cheaper high power. Just my .02