Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Breaking The 180

j2fast

I am new to the sport but not new to shooting. Being new I have spent a great deal of time reading the rule book and have attended a half day orientation on the rules, etc. I have shot in a couple of local matches so far this year. This past Sunday was the first match with good weather (Sunny, upper 50's) so I was a little extra pumped to get out and shoot.

I arrived fairly earily and started walking the stages, most of which were straight forward courses of fire but one was a triangle (Devil's Triangle I think?). There were two choices for paths to take. I walked the course many times by myself plotting my COF and then several times more with one of the more experienced shooters who was also RO'ing (I had also shoot with him before at my first match). He gave me several suggestions on how the get through the course which was the most complicated I had come across in my short time in the sport. Although after all of the walk throughs I felt confident that if I just didn't get ahead of myself all would be well.

So now I'm up, starting with hands and toes against the wall. The buzzer sounds, I draw, step into the doorway, turn to my right to engage the first 3 targets (Being mindful of the 180). Then what I should have done next is pulled the gun into my chest, stepped back and headed down the hallway to the next 3 targets. What I did in reality was step back, point the gun down almost sweeping my feet and breaking the 180 as I turned down the hallway. So in my head I was then waiting for the RO to grab me but he didn't so I continued (in the end he said I was close but I was OK there).