Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Limited gun ideas/thoughts

danjordan78

So I'm looking to build a limited gun for Steel Challenge. I'm relatively new to the sport, but am totally and absolutely consumed with it. I already have a 9mm Steel Master (center fire open), a Ruger 22/45 with a CMore and comp (rimfire open) and now am looking to build up a limited gun to complete the set.

Trying to figure out a couple of things:

1. 2011 vs 1911: Can't decide which one. Either has it's benefits. I already shoot a 2011 for Open so could stick with the same grip and make them feel as similar as possible. I can get grips though for a 1911 that would make it feel like a 2011 so the same frame isn't completely necessary. Mag capacity doesn't matter since it's just for Steel Challenge.

2. Weight: Is a 2011 or 1911 lighter to start with? If I get an aluminum frame 1911 it's going to be pretty light. Not sure about the weight of the polymer frame on the 2011. Mags probably weigh about the same for both. Whatever slide I get will be sent off to get lightened by someone like Freedom Gunworks and it's the same slide on either model.

3. Cost: 1911 is going to be cheaper to build. The frames are far cheaper, mags are cheaper, more variety for grips. Not particularly looking to go cheap, really want to build what's going to be best. Willing to spend a little extra money to do it right. However, at this point I think I'm better building a less expensive option and spending the difference on ammo and practice then on a $3-4000 full custom gun.

Couple of ideas so far:

Springfield RO 1911 - lightened slide, trigger job, grips, I'm in about $1000-$1100.

STI Trojan LITE 1911 - aluminum frame, lightened slide, grips, I'm in $1600-1700 or so.

STI 2011 of some sort - 9mm Edge's start at $2000 so with the slide lightened I will be in probably $2500 with mags.