Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

45 GAP bullets pulling?

S&WIowegan

I have been loading 45 GAP ammo for 5 or 6 years. The load is Starline brass, Montana Gold 230 gr FMJ, 4.0 gr VV N310, Federal primers, Hearthco moonclips. My loading press is a Dillon Square Deal B dedicated to 45 GAP. I'm using this ammo in IDPA ESR. I made a batch of ammo this spring and have been having bullet pull problems for the first time.

I first noticed the pull in a 325 PD. A bullet pulled out of the brass and stuck in the cylinder. It was kinda funny when I showed clear and got a handful of powder :surprise:. I cleared the cylinder and shot the next stage. This time a bullet must have pulled out before I fired the round which resulted in a squib stuck in the barrel. The RO and I stopped in time.

So I put the 325 away and used a 4" 625 this weekend. No big problems BUT my one partially fired moonclip had two rounds that were WAY long.

Any ideas why this is happening after years of success? Same brass the whole time.

Also watch that you are not over crimping. Too much crimp can actually cause a reduction of retention force in some situations.

Make sure your sizing die has not gotten loose and back out some.

How much room do you have in the case? Could you shorten your overall length some for better retention? This would require lowering your powder charge and working the load back up again but might help.

I should have mentioned I re-crimped all the ammo using the SDB after the first pulling episode. I turned the crimp die lower and definitely got more crimp. My records show the Starline brass has been reloaded 6 times. I've been loading to a COL of 1.17" and could surely shorten that since there's only 4.0 gr. of powder in the case.

I'm thinking I'll also try some Bayou Bullets so the crimp can actually bite into the bullet a bit. What makes this problem funny is the load shoots so soft people laugh and say no way I'm making major.

Thanks for your thoughts.

Bob.