Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

SC new shooter - rule question - pass on a target allowed?

SWHlctx

I'm new to SC and have a rule (or procedure) question. I've shot one match and most of it went OKish since I'm not the best shooter, but I had a mental meltdown on a couple of plates and just could not hit them. Being hard headed I decided I would keep shooting until I hit them. Not a good plan as I wasted a lot of ammo and had horrible times. I'm shooting a 9mm with iron sights.

So here is my newbie question - If I take a couple of shots at a plate and don't hit it, can I just pass and take the penalty?

And if "passing" on a plate is allowed, how do you do it or I guess another way to ask is how do you (I) declare it so the the SO isn't standing there waiting for me to continue to take shots? Do I say somethinig like "PASS"?

Just shoot the stop plate. The RO will apply the proper penalties.

If you can't hit the stop plate, just tell the RO you're done :)

Edited by kmca

Have you identified the reason you couldn't hit the plates?

Too far? Too small?

Your trigger? Ammo? Gun? Sights?

Shooting too fast?

I'd get out to the range and try those similar shots again in practice -

figure out what's going wrong, and correct it. :cheers:

You are not doing anything different than any other new shooter does. Practice will bring your round count per match way down. It doesn't have to be live fire. Practice your draw and first shot. That will give you the most improvement. Don't pull the trigger until you have the sights just right. The speed will come. It is much faster to shoot 5 shots on 5 targets, than to shoot 10 or 12. It is a 3 second penalty for any plates not hit before the stop plate and it's a 30 second penalty for not hitting the stop plate. Go slow until you learn how to draw the gun safely and shoot accurately. the speed will come with time.