Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

CNC Mill Retrofit- Gunsmithing Setup Questions

MikeRush

Last year I sold my open gun and picked up 3 2011 frames and a Series 1 Bridgeport CNC complete with tape drive with the intention of converting it to modern CNC.

I finally am in a position financially to make the conversion happen, so I have the new stepper drives, and I will be picking up the VFD and breakout board this week. I am currently planning on running Mach 3. I have zero milling experience, but I am generally technically minded and know I can accomplish anything I set my mind to.

My questions aren't so much about the conversion as features/accessories I should consider including- I would very much appreciate input on this!

1. I've been digging through threads on some of the CNC forums and it seems like people get really excited about high rpms. I may end up doing some work with aluminum (mag pouches, maybe a race holster, 80% or 0% lowers, etc) but mainly plan on slides and frames. I am planning on keeping the stock motor and belt drive for now, although I will be using the VFD for speed control. Will 4200 rpm generally be sufficient to give me a decent surface finish in typical smithing operations?

2. It has most of a mist coolant system intact, should I get that running or ditch it and go straight for flood cooling?

3. I'm looking at a Kurt vise, the D675 or D688- do I need the swivel base? It seems like it would simplify certain operations but that I could accomplish similar things with the CNC. I will probably end up with one eventually, but I don't know how immediate the need for one is.

4. My last question for now is about the Para/Clark cut- I've heard of using a 3/8 endmill, the EGW .360 endmill, or a smaller endmill and programming a toolpath to make the cut. I am leaning towards just picking up the EGW cutter as for now I am only doing my own guns, and think the HSS will probably last for my purposes but I could be persuaded to take another route.