Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shok Buff Question

Jeremiah

I'm new to the entire buff world. Could someone tell me how to use a shok buff effectively for a competitive advantage? I have a single stack 1911 if it matters.

I know they somehow correlate to the spring weight/slide weight/load, but what do you try to get the slide to do? What do you look for when you are trying to find the right combination?

I know this is a rookie question, but I'm a rookie.

Shok-buffs do two things: shorten the slide travel and cushion the impact of the slide against the frame at the end of its travel.

Both of those will change the percieved muzzle flip and recoil characteristics. If you run a very light spring, it's possible (though tough) to do damage to the frame without one.

If you're just getting started, put one in and see if it works 100% like that. If not, take it back out. In a few thousand rounds of watching the sights, you can experiment more because you'll know what you're seeing and feeling.

I am a novice at the whole "gun tuning to go faster" thing too, but it seems people are tuning with lighter (generally) springs and adding shok buffs to shorten the slide travel and get the gun to track flatter. Theory being that the recoil spring pressure, cocking the hammer and the slide slamming to a stop at the end of it's travel add up to most of the muzzle flip. You'll hear lots of theories on here, I am not qualified to judge which are right.

Anyway, along the same lines some folks have shot a Springco. I shot them, for over two years, blindly following advice without correlating it. :rolleyes: Once I finally gave up on them (long story, don't ask <_< ) I went back to a regular rod and 12# spring. The short version is that I find, in comparison the Springco makes recoil mushy and I have less consistent site movement with them.

Fast forward after almost two years of regular rod, no buffs and a 12# spring.