Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm loads using IMR SR4756 vs PB

danman00

Hi all,

I'm new to this forum and fairly new to reloading. I can't begin to tell you how much I've enjoyed and learned from you guys and reading these forums. I have been reloading for a few months now and have loaded close to 2000 rds of 40.s&w and .45acp using a Lyman T-Mag II with great success. As of right now - I want to start loading for 9mm using 124 gr. Rainiers plated projectiles. I've relecieved my dies and shell plate. I have clean brass, small pistol primers, and 2 different powders I could use. As we all know, powder is tough to come by so I'm kinda stuck with using what I have. I have a good amount of both IMR PB and SR4756 and I've seen on Hogden's web site that there is load data for each caliber with both powders. What I would really like is to pick the brains of you super experienced guys to see if you've have loaded 9mm with either of these powders and whether you've prefered one or the other and/or why.

FYI,

I'm shooting a G35 and G23 with Lonewolf 9mm conversion barrels. I shoot IDPA using these same pistols with stock .40 cal barrels and ammo in order to stay in SSP so I'm not caring about PF nor am I competing in this 9mm caliber.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Danman

OAL is best determined for Your Gun/Mags and the bullets you've chosen -

it doesn't vary by powder type used.

If 1.15" is best for your gun, with those bullets, you're all set at 1.15".

I'm sure Steve also meant to start a little below 4.5 grains, and work

up slowly with a chrono.

Also, depends on what exactly you're planning on using the ammo for?

USPSA PF125? Hunting? Self defense? etc :cheers: