Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shooting First Classifier

Dkrad1935

OK - I have been trying to shoot a classifier for about two and a half months now. Had one cancelled due to weather and another cancelled for some reason Im not quite sure of. But Saturday am I should get to classify. I have been shooting IDPA for maybe 6 months or so. But I have had a nagging elbow problem so I am very anxious to see how I do.

Haha - my wife would say I am obsessed with this. But I really want to just benchmark myself. I shot a sanctioned match at the end of October and did average. But since then I have gotten a lot better - actually winning one of the local indoor matches (low shooter count but good shooters). So this will be my first legitimate benchmark opportunity.

A friend told me not to over classify.....but that just doesn't compute for me. I mean I understand all the reasons he says that, but I just need to know how good I am and I couldn't stand it to not try my best.

So - A bold prediction.....I think I will shoot middle expert. Of course we will see how the long shots and the head shots get me. I literally get know practice with those.....

I will report back and let you know...unless of course I do worse than expected:) Hahaha

I recommend knocking out some dry fire in preparation for the classifier. A lot can be figured out in dry fire, and a lot of time can be gained through transitions. Take a look at Ben Stoeger's classifier run on YouTube, and you'll have an idea of what speed and fluid motion can look like. Once you're on the line let your vision dictate the pace, you can only shoot as fast as you can see. Good luck, call your shots, and transition hard.

I shot horrible...I had a raw time in SSP of 99 seconds and ended up with a 130 i think...if my math is right which is SharpShooter. I felt really slow and lethargic.....but at least I finally got to shoot a classifier.