Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

.357 SIG,356 TSW or .38super

Kimbertarget

Hello,

Im a newbie in regards to reloading. I recently got a case for free from a storage unit a buddy had filled with 9mm NATO(WSS) cartridges. I used the free ammo to compete in a steel challenge production division match and i WON. Now i dont know if there is an advantage but my pistol felt like it cycled better/smoother for some reason than thr usual walmart TULA 9mm ammo i usually run.

My friend then said if i like the 9mm NATO i should try his .357sig and i shot extremely well even out to 25-30yards which made me a believer in the flatter trajectory hype.

This being the 1st time i really noticed a difference in a cartridges and was curious about other cartridges/calibers that have either died off or not that widely used but claimed to have had advantages.

If im going to reload what would be the best to start out with and why.

Please leave your personal experience and not just something your quoting from online.

Real experience with these rounds please..thank you in advance

1) .357 sig

2) .357 TSW

3) .38 super

I would like to pick two calibers (MINOR and major) to compete with.

USPSA? Or strictly Steel Challenge? Major is USPSA (except in Open division) is gonna be a minimum of 40 caliber. 38 super has not "died out"... it is alive and quite well...38 super, 38TJ, 38SC, and others....then you have the metrics...9x19, 9x21, 9x23, 9x25...

IMO, the only caliber on your list that has any merit is the 38super....the 357sig would be expensive to shoot, even reloading it, as the 356 TSW...

Currently, I load and shoot 9mm, 38super, 40 S&W, 45ACP, 38/357...