Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Newbie question, buying powders/primers

G17

Ok guys, i'm sorry this is a total noob question as i am just currently getting into reloading. I'm sorry if i missed the awnsers to this elsewhere on the site. I almost have my bench set up and i'm looking into ordering powder and primers for the first time. I visited Powder Valley and i'm trying to understand the steps for ordering these "hazmat" materials.

So from one i understand you don't have to have it go to an FFL like if you were to buy a handgun online. Powder Valley states they need a copy of your drivers license on file. How do you provide them with this? Do you fax it, scan and email it to them?Also it says you have to require a statement that it doesn't the store doesn't break any Federal, State, or local laws. How do you provide something like that? Does every online store that you get these materials from require this?

I didn't know i was looking at a $28 dollar surcharge for the HazMat materials. What do you guys recommend the best method of shipment? It says you have to have someone sign for the package, which kind of sucks because i live by myself and work like everyday so timing a shipment to arrive unless i Next day air it is not going to be easy at all. Is there anything else i should know? It sounds a lot easier to get components locally although i have yet to see any shops at all in my area carry products like these.

I just want to make sure that i have all of this straight before i order to avoid any complications.

Thank you

Edited by G17

Unless this is something new Powder Valley is requiring, I think you may have misunderstood something you read at thier website. I've never had to provide a copy of my DL to them or anybody else as a requirement to buy primers or powder.