Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Tec Loader help needed

chp5

I recently started shooting Open and I’d like to use my Remington Competition Master in Open for an upcoming local three gun match. It has the standard 8 round mag tube. I bought Tec Loaders and put on the bracket.

When practicing, I can get the first 4 shells into the CM pretty well with the first Tec Loader but, when I go for the second Tec Loader and the next 4 shells, things go south. I can’t seem to reliably get that second Tec Loader full of shells loaded.

I’m considering buying the Arredondo guide, but that won’t help me right now. I also wonder if the 8 round mag tube has too much spring tension for me to load 8 shells with a Tec Loader. Do I need to get a 10 round tube to make this work?

Thanks.

10 round tube.

I learned the hard way that you need to shoot more than 4 rounds out of a 10 round tube before a reload with a Tec-Loader. The last 1 or 2 are fighting too much spring tension for reliable Tec-Loading.

Besides, you got to have 11 in the gun to start or I'll beat you on every stage that has more than 9 rounds. ;)

Besides, you got to have 11 in the gun to start or I'll beat you on every stage that has more than 9 rounds. ;)

Well.....

Maybe that was a little strong but you know what I ment. IPSC shotgunning is all about loading and he who can load the fastest and the least has a big advantage.

Lets narrow it down to more than 9 and less than 11. :P

Get the Choate 10 round tube kit, throw away the spring and get a better one from Beven Grams and while your at it, get a couple of the Choate barrel/mag tube clamps for sling attachement and use them both to keep the tube from un-screwing itself while shooting (lotsa fun to watch).

http://www.gramsengineering.com/

http://www.riflestock.com/