Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Fiber Optic Front - Down Zero's recent post

jkushner1

I just read the string that was created in response to DOWN ZERO's .090 vs. .125 front fiber optic sight width question. It was very interesting. Being the kind of guy (which I think in general, hurts more than it helps) that is constantly tweaking his guns, I have a question for the Cybermasses of Shooting. I have switched my comeition guns (IPSC/IDPA) over to Fiber Optic Front sights - Limited and Production - both are Para's with EGW fronts and with Para Factory Bomar copy rears (I think the front is about .110/.120 wide and the rear para notch is about .130/.140 wide) but not exactly sure, BUT my question the regards HORIZONTAL ALIGNMENT of this configuration. I only have about 50-60 events under my belt so I'm kinda new to the sport but am loving every moment of it.

Anyway:

It seems that once the horn sounds, I am deviating between aligning the fiber optic dot itself with the top line of the rear sight and aligning the black steel above the fiber optic dot of the front blade with the top line of the rear sight - I 'm almost positive this what is occuring so my POI elevation is varying quite a bit. Am I correct to assume, that the proper alignment is the top line (black steel above the fiber optic dot) of front blade should be level with the top line of the rear sight, or do some people actually sight in there guns so that the gun zero's with fiber optic dot level with the top line of the rear sight.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jon :huh:

Am I correct to assume, that the proper alignment is the top line (black steel above the fiber optic dot) of front blade should be level with the top line of the rear sight, or do some people actually sight in there guns so that the gun zero's with fiber optic dot level with the top line of the rear sight.

Your assumption is correct.