Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Which Tanfoglio for my open gun?

my00wrx1

I have been shooting IPSC production for about 18 months and I am now thinking about getting an open gun in 38 super. My production gun is a CZ 75 SP-01 Shadow, which I really like the feel of, however they have few options other than 9mm so I am looking at a Tanfoglio.

The clubs I shoot at have pretty small IPSC contingents and I have only seen 2 Tanfoglio’s, 1 production in 38 and the other a production gun built into an open gun in 9mm. Both felt good and shot well though the grip on the 38 felt a bit bigger than my CZ, though still comfortable.

I’ve hunted around and found some prices on new (pretty scary) and second hand pistols and due to the cost I’m leaning towards the cheaper new or second hand but as this is new to me I’m not sure if I’m getting value for money or what I could be missing and would appreciate some feedback.

I’m still waiting on all the details but this is what I have so far (please note I’m not in the US though these are in US dollars):

1. New Eric Gold Custom GK with full length dust cover, lightened slide, v-12 comp, C-more and 5 mags - $4,500
  2. New Eric Gold Custom HC with full length dust cover, lightened slide, v-12 comp, C-more and 5 mags - $4,200
  3. New Limited Custom HC with full length dust cover, lightened slide and 5 mags - $2,400 add another $1,200 for C-more, mount, comp and barrel – total $3,600
  4. Second hand Eric Gold Custom GK with full length dust cover, lightened slide v-12 comp, C-more and 5 mags plus its been extensively worked over by a gun smith (not sure how much use this one has had) - $3,500
  5. New Eric Gold Custom HC with short dust cover, lightened slide, v-8 comp, C-more and 5 mags - $3,200
  6. Second hand Eric Gold Custom HC with full length dust cover, lightened slide, v-8 comp, C-more and 5 mags (doesn't sound like its had much use) - $2,500