Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

reloading questions

Ok first off i am new to reloading, i bought a dillon 550 and have it set up to load 9mm all that is left to do is get the powder set where i need it. I have my bullet depth set, the only problem i am having so far is how to set the crimp. Any insight on this would be great. As i am pretty new to this forum my search skills aren't very good yet thanks in advance..

Ok first off i am new to reloading, i bought a dillon 550 and have it set up to load 9mm all that is left to do is get the powder set where i need it. I have my bullet depth set, the only problem i am having so far is how to set the crimp. Any insight on this would be great. As i am pretty new to this forum my search skills aren't very good yet thanks in advance..

http://www.reviewsofthings.com/guns/crimping_9mm_luger_%20cases_for_reloading.html here ia a link i used when i set up my dillon sdb my came with way to much crimp i used a bullet puller and pulled a round apart to check the crimp . a dummy round with no primer or powder ofcourse and went from there it took me a few times to get it where i needed it take youre time and dont rush

sorry i forgot to mention i took a factory round apart with the puller and looked at the crimp dont know if it was right or wrong to do but i had no help and it gave me a rough idea of what a crimp should look like just fyi

I'm not new and I can't find anything either.

Since you are new I will try to put all the details in place. First is reloading is all about the details. You didn't say what type of bullet you are working with. So I am going to answer as if you are loading a jacketed bullet, if you are loading moly, cast, or plated this answer could very well be wrong.