Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Open gun in .40?

spideysteve

Hi all

I did some searches, found a few answers, but not really too much out there about this topic that I could find ...

As background info .. I'm fairly new to handgun shooting in general (bought my first one 2 years ago) and just started shooting IPSC this year. I'm shooting my Tanfoglio Limited Custom 2 that I got earlier this year ...

At any rate, just wondering why there are very few open guns in 40? Most you see are in 9 mm or 38 super ... I've seen a couple open guns in 40 but really not many at all in comparison to the other calibers ...

Any thoughts?

Thanks

As Blue said, capacity and load development are the two primary reasons. A 170mm magazine in 40 will hold 26-27 rounds, in 38SC/9mm that same magazine will 29-30 rounds. While capacity can be planned around, more bullets give the shooter more options. In an Open gun, you run a slow powder beind a light bullet so that lots of gas is available to run the compensator. 38 Super and 9mm have a variety of 115, 120, 121, 124, 125, and 130gr bullets to work with; there are very few light bullets available in 40.

All that is then compounded by the fact that the 38S/9mm has become the defacto standard and thats what is generally available and also what the gunsmiths know how to build.

But a few 40s are out there. And nothing is stopping a shooter from running one and doing so well. But most likely sooner or later, a change will be needed to compete.

Here is the mother of all Open 40 threads: http://www.brianenos.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=77956&view=findpost&p=902806

Search on the title 40 Open using advanced search and you will find others.

And as blue said, the mags hold fewer rounds and the selection of light bullets is pretty slim. Not sure about his comment on shooting better? Mine run pretty good ;)