Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Hornady LNL Die selection

Greetings,

I'm new to reloading. After deliberating and researching for almost 2 years, I've decided to purchase a Hornady LNL w/ case feeder. I've been procrastinating for some time because the thought of spending hours down in my basement mindlessly cranking a lever - like a hamster waiting for another food pellet - doesn't seem to appeal to me. ;) That said, I shoot competitively and a reloader will ultimately afford me the opportunity to practice more and further develop my abilities. Feeding my gun with quality, performance-tuned ammo wouldn't hurt a bit, either. My initial reloading will involve 9mm.

I've got most of my 'peripherals' sourced out, but the die selection seems to be a very subjective thing. I've read that the Hornady dies are excellent, but I'm also considering the Redding Competiton Pro Series dies as well. http://www.midwayusa.com/viewproduct/?productnumber=610299

I've decided that the RCBS Lock-out Die will be mandatory.

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct/?productNumber=536792

I'm also pretty solid on the Powder Funnels Universal PTX:

http://powderfunnels.com/products.html

Given the inclusion of the RCBS Lock-out and Powder Funnels PTX dies, please relay your recommendations for the remaining 3 dies stations.

Any other comments or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks to everyone for your time and consideration.

I really like Redding dies. After purchasing a Competition Seating die I've decided they are now my go-to die vendor when I need to buy new. I'd suggest setting up the LNL without the case feeder until the bugs are worked out.