Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Opening up the Benelli M2 Loading Port?

CJW

I have looked at a bunch of the threads on Benelli mods and am pretty sure I'd like to save my thumb as much unnecessary pain and suffering as possible. :o

I am thinking about opening up my loading port, and could use some input. From the pics I have seen posted, it looks like the area to file/grind is pretty much where the factory bevel is. Does that sound right? If anybody has a before/after comparison, that would be helpful

Also, what should I do about the bare metal when I am done? Any suggestions on how to deal with the finish there?

Thanks!

I don't think there's anything you can do to the metal, refinishing wise, that's going to stand up very long. Even spent gobs of money and had the receiver re-anodized, it would still get scratched up fairly quickly. By keeping my edges straight I kept the end result looking fairly clean and think it looks fine without refinishing.

I studied a lot of the photos before I did mine. Some people hog them out while others just seem to file them down flat so the sharp edge is gone. I did sort of a combo of the two, sort of a gentle bevel in like a mag well, but tapered, with more bevel in the front than the rear. It's probably a "middle" job, more metal removed than some, but less than a lot of others.

It wasn't meant to be the finished product, I planned of trying it and making changes as needed, but so far I haven't bothered with it.

I kept the power tools away and just used a couple small files. A medium sized flat one for the major removal, a small swiss file and one very small round file with an arched buffing type stroke for blending and rounding.

m2Port.jpg

Edited by cas

Benelli receivers are anodized for sure.

I think it's just Type II anodizing, not the Type III hardcoat that you see on most quality AR15 receivers.