Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

22mm Globe Front Sight

carbon9

Hi, I am very new to all of this and am wanting to use iron sights while I still can. My eyes are changing again(eye exam is in 2 hours, lol). I have purchased a 22mm Riles Highboy front sight and am wondering which adjustable iris to put in it to make it usable for 3 Gun. I can't say enough about how well made the Riles is, amazing. I have been looking at Anschutz, Gehmann and Centra. I am not as concerned with shape, crosshairs, horizontal line or simple ring as much as determining which mm iris size to get for shooting a 10" plate at 200yds or a Larue at 350.

My choices for 22mm globe sights are

1.8mm-4.3mm adjustable

2.5mm-5mm adjustable

3.3mm-5.8mm adjustable

I am hoping to find somebody with Palma experience or other shooting disciplines who have experience with sighting systems such as these.

My logic(which has been wrong many times) tells me a smaller aperture will work best for distance(not that this is far for Palma and HP)and I am leaning towards the 1.8-4.3mm. Does this make sense? Or is this simply not going to work well for this application?

Thank you

g

Welcome to the world of 3 Gun. I am impressed that you want to play with the few of us in the Iron sighted

divisions.

I would try to persuade you away from the High Boy sight. Designed for the demanding precision that

is Palma, I don't think they will hold up to the thrashing they will receive in the more physically

demanding sport of 3 Gun.

I would add that the absolute precision an adjustable iris offers in the fixed distance /target size game of High Power

and Palma is not suitable for the ever-changing target presentations you'll see at a major 3 gun event.

Unlike between strings of fire at Palma you will not have time to fiddle with front and rear sight apertures during the

course of fire in a practical match. Oh, you can.... but the clock is running.