Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Practice a Classifier?

I hesitate to ask this question for fear of being blown off as the ultimate in ignorant newbies. Let me start by saying that I am 45 years old and I just started shooting USPSA and IDPA one year ago this month. Before starting USPSA, I shot PPC with a revolver and NRA Action Pistol with a revolver. I am not new to shooting, but I am new to the concept of racing the clock on unknown courses of fire instead of par times on static courses, and I am new to the 1911 (and 2011) platforms.

So here's the deal...I need to get a Limited classification. Here in Wyoming, we only have decent weather about half of the year, so the club I belong to shoots a 4-classifier event every August and a neighboring club shoots a 4-classifier event in May (next weekend). I have a list of the four classifiers for next week and I mentioned to a couple of other people in our club that I thought it would be a good idea to set the classifiers up and shoot through them. For instance, one of the classifiers is Off Balance Blast and we need to shoot from behind a barricade and under a 1 by 4 cross member three feet above the ground. I have never shot from such a position and I thought it would be a good idea to run through the COF before doing it for “real”. Well, as it turns out, there is kind of an unspoken rule around here that states that practicing classifiers is heresy, unethical, and about the same as shooting pheasants on the ground. As it was explained to me, classifiers are to be shot cold and on demand. If I practice a classifier I will not be demonstrating my true ability and I will be “grand-bagging” which I guess is the opposite of sandbagging.