Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Newb Questions.....bullets

Artsville

Hi All

I am a newbie loader and this site is great. I haven't loaded any rounds yet as i am in the homework stage. I am hoping someone can clear up some confusion i have over the method for creating a really soft load. I have searched and it seems many people have many ideas about this subject. I would like to create a soft shooting load but am uncertain if i should run with a heavier bullet or a lighter bullet? In other words does a heavy bullet make for a softer shooting load?

Please keep this in general for any caliber. I do realize burn rate and oal all play a role in this equation.

So can someone make a definitive statement or is it not possible?

thnx guys.....

Hi All

I am a newbie loader and this site is great. I haven't loaded any rounds yet as i am in the homework stage. I am hoping someone can clear up some confusion i have over the method for creating a really soft load. I have searched and it seems many people have many ideas about this subject. I would like to create a soft shooting load but am uncertain if i should run with a heavier bullet or a lighter bullet? In other words does a heavy bullet make for a softer shooting load?

Please keep this in general for any caliber. I do realize burn rate and oal all play a role in this equation.

So can someone make a definitive statement or is it not possible?

thnx guys.....

In general a heavy bullet and fast powder combo produce a softer load.

To add as an example. A combination of a 180 grain JHP and Solo 1000 make for a soft shooting round.

This is why i ask....I was going to try 180gr JHP with VV N320 powder. Then i started wondering if a 200gr would be a wiser choice. I shoot production in IPSC so i am not worried about my power factor at all.

anybody else have comments? I shoot an xd 40 in the 4" barrel. I am tired of shooting factory loads.

Art

yeah i know.....so heavier is better....got it.