Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Help In Dis-assembly

McDaddy

As mentioned in a previous thread, I am new to the Open game. I bought an older Para open gun, and was wondering if there was an easier way to field strip it. I took it apart (by removing the slide stop) when I first got it to eyeball everything to make sure that there were no obvious problems, and it took me forever to get it back together again. Maybe I'm just an idiot. I guess the question I have, is do you remove the compensator when disassmbling it or not? Without a barrel bushing, it relly threw me for a loop, the full length guide rod was giving me fits. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

-Mac-

MacDaddy,

Look for a hole in the guide rod. If you see one, retract the slide and put a paper clip, nail, or anything that will fit in the hole. This compresses the recoil spring and makes the recoil spring and guide rod one unit, which allows the top end to come apart easier.

If there is not a hole in the guide rod, look and see if the end of the guide rod will fit an allen wrench.

Don't take the comp off unless you really need to. It is probably lock tighted on and will require heat to come off.

Hope this helps.

If there is not a hole in the guide rod, look and see if the end of the guide rod will fit an allen wrench.

If there is no take-down hole in the guide rod, buy one that does or haul yours to the nearest drill press (a 1/16" drill will work). You can buy a new FLGR that is pre-drilled for about $16. I think Dawsons Precision sells them? If not, STI can point you where to go because they put them in their guns. I can't acess gun websites from here so I can't post any links.

McDaddy,

Like others have mentioned, find a hole for a pin or an allen wrench hole and go from there to remove the guide rod.

Do not remove the comp. Don't be thrown off due to the lack of a bushing. An Open gun really is the same thing just with a couple of extra holes and doo-dads.