Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Benefits of Calling Your Shots?

ipscman

Hi Gang,

I'm pretty new to IPSC, have read thousands of posts on this wonderful site and have a simple question:

What are the exact benefits of knowing how to call your shots?

1.I can see that it saves time when shooting at a popper from a box, e.g., so you can take-off before hearing or seeing the target react.

2. I can also see that you can pick-up your misses on the spot as well.

Are there other specific benefits that I'm missing?

Thanks!

Mark

I have a dificult time calling the shots.  I think it has more to do with being keyed up about shooting a good stage score more than anything.  I have had some stages I have shot, particularly long ones 20-30 rounds, where after the first reload I am seeing the sights when the gun fires.  My first 3 targets suck, but the rest have good hits.  I guess I need to shoot more Bill Drills.

Steve has it. By knowing that it was a hit "without really thinking about it" allows you to immediately move on to the next target.

"Without really thinking about it," means that no words are used in your mind, only pictures.

That is the theory I am going for anyways, I am not successful very often. Yet.

For me, it's easier with a dot. This monday while shooting groups with my open gun at 50 ft. I got into a zone where I was calling shots and knowing which ones went askew.

The next question is: If I was calling the shots, why did I shoot the shots askew?

My answer: I failed to properly control the trigger press.

I also had a good zone/zen moment at IPSC this past saturday where I had to engage 5 poppers before leaving the box. 12345, no problem, saw the sights correctly and moved on.  That stage was also the most time I've ever taken for a sight picture so far. I knew what I had to see to make the shot. Cool.

More stuff to work on.

SA

(Edited by Steve Anderson at 9:09 am on June 5, 2002)

ipscman,