Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Oal Variance

I am loading 38 Super on my 650 today and am getting variances from 2.01 to 2.65 for the OAL. I am using Armscor and Federal brass.The brass has generally been fired less than 3 times.

Question #2 moved to Stock/Limited guns forum.

Edited by Erik Warren

Dammit, Jim, I'm a doctor! One problem at a time, in the appropriate place. I'm going to split your post and put question #2 into the Stock/Limited guns forum.

The data you have provided is, well, impossible. Perhaps you misplaced the decimal points? A .38 Super Auto cartridge should be somewhere between 1.23" (flat-point or JHP) and 1.26" (round nose FMJ) long. A .005" variation (plus or minus tolerance) from the desired OAL wouldn't be unusual not unacceptable.

Do you mean you are getting 1.201" to 1.265" OAL?

Well, let's tackle the source of the OAL variation here and whether it is causing the feeding trouble in the other thread.

Do you have the right bullet seating stem in the die? For round nose FMJ and some JHP bullets with a radiused ogive, such as Zero's, you want the round nose seater that contacts the ogive. For flat nose and some truncated-cone shaped JHP bullets, such as Montana Gold's, you probably want the flat point seater.

Did you have a case in each station with the shellplate up when you tightened down your dies? You have to do this at least for the sizing die. You should also do it with a long cartridge in the seating station when you tighten your bullet seating die.

Do you notice any change in the ease or difficulty of operating the lever? All of the below are applicable...

Are you using case lube? It smooths operation, taking out hitches of resistance, which results in more consistent OALs.

Was the brass fired out of the same gun, at the same power factor? Same reason as above.