Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Best Source For Glock Springs?

JimmyZip

Getting light strikes on a nre G17RTF. Feels like the striker is not reset all the way. Makes a little dent on the primer. Does ignite about 90% of them, would prefer 100% Gun feeds fine, and all that, just getting light strikes. When it happens, the trigger feels "soft" if any of you have had this problem, you know what I mean. I was told to try replacing the striker spring with a new one. The gun is new, and the striker channel is CLEAN. So I thought I would get a new spring, and see is that helps. If any of you have a better idea as to what should make this happen with a new G17, 3rd gen RTF, let me know.

JZ

Jimmy,

You, of course, ruled out high primers right? Other than that if it is a NEW gun see if the striker moves freely all the way through the channel. I'm not an expert but when I recently broke an aftermarket striker I was told to do the same test as sometimes it will hang up a little. When I ran an M&P Pro last year I got light strikes when I tried a light recoil spring as it was not going all the way in battery.

Shooters Connection has Lone Wolf 6lb and 4lb striker springs.

JZ,

Is this happening with factory ammo or with reloads? Like Sarge mentioned, high primers can give you you same result. Have you changed any parts in the pistol? Any chance, if you are shooting reloads, that the settings on your press have been changed or are you using a different brand of primers? Anything less than 100% ignition is unacceptable.

RH

I am going to go through all my reloads and see if ther are any high primers. I do check them as I am loading periodically, but will go through the last lot and see. How high is high? Is flush high?

edited for spelling.

Edited by JimmyZip