Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Blown Primers

I have been reloading for about 26 years. A few weeks ago I bought a new M&P 9L and almost immediately ran into problems. The 9mm Minor load I developed for my CZ just would not fire in the M&P. It seemed like light strikes initially but after "de-oiling" the striker and tunnel it seemed to go a little better, but only a little. Eventually I found that my rounds were a tad to long for the Smith so the energy of the striker was used up to try and seat it further. So I shortened the rounds by a fraction and immediately things seemed to go a lot better. The rounds felt "softer" than in the CZ and everything flew until a primer blew out of a case and caused a 5 second stoppage. OK so a blown primer sometimes happens and stuff like that is part and parcel of IPSA. I found both the primer as well as the case and the primer pocket seemed to be a bit oval. The primer itself seemed quite normal. All the other cases and primers seemed quite normal. On the next stage I had another blown primer and on the stage after that two. I withdrew my ammo from the match before I got told to do so and completed the match with military stuff I had in my car for such emergencies. The military stuff felt a lot "hotter" and accuracy definitely suffered. No further blown primers or problems except for a Mike on a far target.