Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

3 gun shotgun for those stuck in AWB states

jar

I live in Massachusetts, where unfortunately we're stuck with a copy of the 94 Federal AWB. Basically, we're stuck in 2003. I've been shooting pistol matches for a few years and am thinking about dabbling in 3 gun. I'm building up an AR and I already have a pile of pre-ban mags. However shotguns are more complicated. The AWB says semi-autos with a capacity greater than 5 need to be pre-ban. What should I look for? I'm not looking to spend a lot of money, but I want something reasonably competitive. Suggestions?

Jar,

Get a Benelli M2 Field! Stay away from the "tacticool" stuff, no pistol grip, stay with a vent rib. Purchase a Nordic extension, and practice your reloads. Ignore the posters on NES.

Be prepared to travel if you want to shoot 3 gun.

Edited by Dan Sierpina

Is your AWB a carbon copy of the federal AWB like NY? (NY's has minor changes) If so more than 5 is fine as long as you don't have a pistol grip, folding stock or barrel shroud. (none of which you need)

Otherwise if you MUST have those things, there are plenty of pre-ban HK marked Benelli's around and as mentioned truck loads of pre-ban 1100's.

Edited by cas

Which tacticool stuff?

Lots of posters on the local board will tell him to get a pump, with a flashlight, lazer designator etc. And don't forget a quad rail. :roflol:

The M2 Field, will allow him to simply unscrew the mag extension and return it to stock, before and after a match.

Edited by Dan Sierpina

Thanks-I have often wondered about shooting in Massachusetts or some of the other states with those rules.I have a pistol grip on my Benelli and I know that doesn't fly some states. I have the regular stock just in case. Appreciate the advice. Probably better to get an M2 and do what you recommend-I don't have the regular mag cap and stuff for my M1.

Edited by Jadeslade