Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

FN SLP Stock Help

Suff

I have been shooting IDPA for a few years but am just starting into 3 gun. I bought a new FN SLP Mk1 to play with . The problem is I have short arms and would really like to shorten the stock. I can't seem to find any aftermarket stocks yet. Any suggestions?

You could take it to a gunsmith to have the stock cut and the recoil pad re shaped to fit the shorter stock. Consider 12" LOP if your really short. Another consideration is to see if they make shortened stocks for the Winchester SX II or III as these have similar lineage then see if they are compatible. I've done this stock reshaping to my Rem 1100 with a rifle stock and will be cutting my Choate pistol stock to about the same since I bought a new Mk 1.

The shortest you can go on the SLP is just under an inch. Due to the recoil tube assembly. You can cut 3/4" off the existing stock and reinstall it pretty easy with a little fitting.

00Bullitt,

Have you attempted this modification with success? I've contacted FN for shorter stocks but they do not have anything planned besided that pistol grip which will be longer. If yes to my question, any caveats about the mod and how to proceed? Thanks for your contribution.

Racine

Yes.....it took a little bit of grinding down the recoil pad to fit properly but we did it. We took off an inch which was a bit too much and we had to modify it to work after going that short. You may be able to get a thinner recoil pad and fit it easier than the factory pad.

Yes.....it took a little bit of grinding down the recoil pad to fit properly but we did it. We took off an inch which was a bit too much and we had to modify it to work after going that short. You may be able to get a thinner recoil pad and fit it easier than the factory pad.