Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

j1b

I went to go shoot skeet today, beautiful day. Sunny, a little windy but really overall just a pleasant day.

I shoot my first round, and I miss the low house bird on the pair from station one. Then I clean the rest of the course - 24. I'm like "hey, that's ok"

Round two I'm feeling it a little too well. I mean, after the first round I all of the sudden just felt like 25 was in the works today. So I shoot round two and miss the pair on station one. I mounted the gun bad, missed the high house and then just washed over the low. I ended up shooting a 20 that round, I could have stopped really. I started shooting pairs and just messing around. You know, the fun part about skeet.

Round three I re-dailed the focus and was clean through station 6. Again, another poor mount and I miss the pair. I knew from the mount that high was going to be tough, and then really didn't feel like I had time to remount for the low. So a 23, but both birds were the losses on station 6.

Round 4 I missed one on station two, and one on station 3.

But all in all I'm really feeling good. The times I missed were times I was lax on the set up and not diligent about getting a good mount.

And again, I could just FEEL that a 25 was in the air. So I sign up for one more round.

And all was good. Started out really crushing the birds, got through 3, 4, and 5 with some of the most solid hits I've ever had. Got to 6 knowing that's where I'd blown it before but really not at all worried about it. The high single came across and it just wrecked in front of my shotgun. Cleaned up on 6 and went to 7 knowing that really, this is it. But not to take anything for granted! Particularly low 7 - a target that half the time I hardly look at. I knew I couldn't over focus, or under focus. I couldn't make it more than anything it had ever been, and I couldn't take it for granted.

Seven went great and it was on to 8 where strangely I got a little calm.