Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

The Book Of Five Rings

As a Martial Arts instructor I recommend that book all the time. Make sure to get the Martial Arts version. It is much better. The first translation of that book from Japanese to English made it all about business type strategy. The Martial Arts version is much better.

Pete

"As a Martial Arts instructor I recommend that book all the time. Make sure to get the Martial Arts version. It is much better. The first translation of that book from Japanese to English made it all about business type strategy. The Martial Arts version is much better."

That is the version I got. I liked what was said in the preface/introduction.

"There is a significant difference between not getting a deal signed and having your cut head off."

Bit of drift, but light/dark, good/evil has a merit with 5 rings. I was first told of a darker side from some other martial arts practitioners back in the mid/late 70's when i was very active. I disagree with the term "illusion" when discussing a philosophy....

When I began to read it again, much like I do with a number of books, there was a focus of sorts that seem to exclude the opponent, to render him/her non-existent and without honor/respect as a worthy or capable foe. To me that smacks of arrogance and a distinct shift in perspective from the discipline (Japanese Shotokan) that I was a practitioner of at the time.

My sensei, Teriuku Okazaki, taught us differently than what I was beginning to pick up from 5. I've learned since then to really evaluate what I read for the possibility that I can, by reading too deeply, be swayed or pull myself off of the path...the downside to trying to learn on your own.

This is where I believe Musashi was in error by training alone, or recommending training alone. just my opinion....