Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Brake Cleaning

austinkroe

I am a relative newb to the AR and I recently built one with a JP/Cooley brake. I have fired around 600 rounds through it now and there is some build up (what I would consider to be a lot for the amount fired). I am not very good at taking macro pictures so I will do my best to describe it. There is some build up on the baffles that appears to be a combo of lead and carbon. It has a rough texture. There is also Some buildup on the muzzle. It appears to be a sizable carbon deposit on the muzzle face and threads inside the brake.

I am not sure if this should cause any concern. Should I clean it or is it a self limiting problem? Will it eventually effect accuracy? How should I clean the brake if I should? Are there any other eccentricities of a muzzle brake that I should be aware of? Also, do you all locktite your brakes on or do you merely tighten them down so you can remove them easily?

Let me know your experiences.

Thanks

I am a relative newb to the AR and I recently built one with a JP/Cooley brake. I have fired around 600 rounds through it now and there is some build up (what I would consider to be a lot for the amount fired). I am not very good at taking macro pictures so I will do my best to describe it. There is some build up on the baffles that appears to be a combo of lead and carbon. It has a rough texture. There is also Some buildup on the muzzle. It appears to be a sizable carbon deposit on the muzzle face and threads inside the brake.

I am not sure if this should cause any concern. Should I clean it or is it a self limiting problem? Will it eventually effect accuracy? How should I clean the brake if I should? Are there any other eccentricities of a muzzle brake that I should be aware of? Also, do you all locktite your brakes on or do you merely tighten them down so you can remove them easily?

Let me know your experiences.

Thanks