Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

75b Random Slide Lock Back

Seth

I recently acquired a used 75b that seems to not much care for Blazer 115grs. It randomly locks the slide back with rounds left in the mag with some regularity. I trimmed the slide stop back and tweaked the slide stop spring and I'm still getting a few.

Any ideas?

Seth

I have been shooting the same CZ 75 for about 8 years now. My "go to" pistol for competition. It's slide stop has been trimmed and I load short with 124/125 gr. bullets. What you described still happens, infrequently, but it still happens. I blame my high grip and long thumbs. For me, it is most likely the second joint on my thumb that makes contact with the slide catch. Does it happen when you shoot strong hand only?

Seth..I trim it back pretty far.

IMG_0091.jpg

you can take a lot of material off. a lot will depend on your OAL and the bullet profile especially if shooting 147 bullets

Edited by eerw

• 2 weeks later...

I had the same problem with a new 75B earlier this year. I finally diagnosed the problem down to the slide stop spring not providing sufficient pressure to keep the slide stop from jumping just enough to catch open. I tried replacing it with a new one sent from CZ USA (for free) but that did not work. After examining how the mechanism worked, I reformed the spring with a slight bend to provide more downward pressure on the slide stop. Problem immediately gone and has not returned. Caution, there are at least 3 different variations on the shape of the slide stop spring out there.

• 1 month later...