Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

OAL .38 Super with SR4756 and compressed load

As mentioned in an earlier post, I am new to loading the .38 Super. I'm finding that loads from 8.2 grs of SR4756 are compressed with the MG 124 jhp. Looking thru the threads, it looks like folks are using from 8.4 up to 9.0 at an oal length ranging from 1.235 to 1.255 and even .260!

So the question is whether my scales are off (balance beam) or you guys are compressing the heck out of the charge.

I'm loading for a BarSto w/ one bbl port and an EGW 6 port comp.

Thanks,

Lynn

4756 results in a compressed charge, no doubt. However - it does seem that the powder charge comes out of the measure somewhat "fluffy". If you tap the case a little bit, it will settle slightly (or, at least it seems to). So, there's a lot of air there that gets compressed, too... But, most slower powder race gun loads end up compressed. Nothing wrong with it. You should see my N105 load! :o

Load to 1.235" to maybe 1.245" for best feeding across the board...

I'm relatively close to you, geographically - if you need it, PM me for my phone number. Be happy to chat w/ you about it on the phone :)

Thats good news! I was pretty sure I read somewhere they were compressed loads, but couldn't find the post to verify. Sounds like everything is normal but I will have to squeeze the case a little more during bullet seat, to hold the length until it gets to the Lee Fctory Crimp Die.

Thanks for the reply and I'll PM you.

Lynn

4756 results in a compressed charge, no doubt. However - it does seem that the powder charge comes out of the measure somewhat "fluffy". If you tap the case a little bit, it will settle slightly (or, at least it seems to). So, there's a lot of air there that gets compressed, too... But, most slower powder race gun loads end up compressed. Nothing wrong with it. You should see my N105 load! :o

Load to 1.235" to maybe 1.245" for best feeding across the board...