Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

147gr load in Carbine slower than in Pistol ?

HHjr

OK guys and gals ..... riddle me this .....why would a load run slower thru a carbine than a pistol ?

Today I ran a new 147gr Zero load over a chronograph and the recorded velocities averaged 50fps LESS in a Colt R6450 than in my Colt Govt. I was shocked. Here is the load data:

147gr Zero

3.2 Ramshot Competition

1.135" OAL

WSP

70 degrees

Rifle was a stock Colt Carbine, Pistol was a old 1980's 1911 w/ a new 14# recoil spring. I ran this load over two different chrono's and a friend shot it through his G34. Velocities around 880 through the pistols and 825 in the carbine. The load felt very soft and would be a great bunny load for minor.

The other day I posted results on this forum with a 124gr Frontier bullet thru these same two guns and recorded 75+fps faster in the carbine as I would expect. This is my first attempt at trying 147gr 9's.

A friend with me at the range helped me fire and record these results. Is the load just running out of gas in the carbine ? Maybe a slower powder ?

Harold H.

Faster burning powder can cause that. If the powder is burnt in the first 8 inches of the barrel- all of the length past that is just friction. This is the case with a lot of .45 ammo. My old Marlin Camp carbine sent 230 ball about 60 fps slower than my 1911.

HI Vegas thanks for the comment. ..... I am suspecting that this combination of bullet/powder did indeed run out of gas as you indicate. The lighter bullet does not. I have some N340 I could try for Carbine dedicated loads. OR, just save my 124gr Frontier load for Carbine and run this 3.2gr RS Comp and the 147gr Zero for the pistol.

H

Edited by HHjr

That's exactly what is happening. That is why I asked you if you ever used Siloutte for your powder. When I ran Competition, the powder would be burnt up well before the bullet was even half-way down the barrel. I switched to Siloutte (Slower powder) and the problems stopped.