Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Tool Head Set up Questions

I’m new to reloading and in the process of researching how to best set up a “reloading” program for my department. We cannot sustain our rifle training with the increase in ammunition costs and inconsistent supply. We project using roughly 200,000-250,000 rounds of .223 a year.

We don’t have unlimited funds to buy the necessary equipment, but want the process as automated as possible (a camdex would be nice :rolleyes: ). Savings spent reloading may not make up for the man-hours, but with costs and availability being more of an issue it’s worth it to us. This will void the warranty on our rifles due to reloading, but whatever we break we’ll be able to fix/replace.

So here’s the concept we are looking at, but would like to tap into your experience base to see if it’s practical;

(1) Super 1050 dedicated for only loading a basic .223 55gr FMJBT practice round with a KISS bullet feeder and powder check.

Even with eight stations, is there enough room to accommodate all the accessories?

We were going to dedicate a XL 650 to process the brass we shoot to keep costs down. Can the 650 be set up to swage the primer pocket and free up another station on the 1050 if the accessories we want don’t fit?

What is the best way to set up the XL 650 to process brass once it’s been cleaned and inspected (to include decap, resize, trim, swage and anything else I forgot)

Thanks for your time,

John

You won't be using the powder check with the KISS unless you use a combination seating/crimping die.

I don't believe the primer pocket swager will fit the 650.

As for warrany on rifles with reloads, how will they know if you don't tell them?