Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

newbie questions

Will Abrahams

i am totally new to long range rifle shooting and rifles in general. i do not want to do any competing with rifles as USPSA matches keep me plenty busy, so its just for fun. oh yeah and shooting 600 yards max.

I did alot of reading here and came to the consensus that a rem 700 in .308 would be a great starter rifle. i put a Nikon 6.5-18x40 with leupold rings and bases on it. i have a 1050 for reloading my 38 supercomp on and i dont not plan to reload 308, so i will be using factory ammo.

my questions...

1. there has been some topics about what weight of bullet to use...155 vs. 168 vs. 175... i thought you could only use one weight of bullet for a particular barrel twist rate?

2. when talking with a local rifle shooter, he had mentioned that it is going to be very difficult to achieve good results with a stock rifle and using factory ammo (remington premier match SMK 168 gr. BTHP)? any truth in this?

3. when sighting in my rifle i noticed that i have the windage knob almost all the way cranked down (left). is it possible that i have the scope on crooked??? i dont see anyway to adjust the bases???

4. my barrel has a twist rate of 1:12, so according to the greenhill equation a 168 gr bullet should be fine, right? or is there more to it than that???

thanks,

Will

Are the bases the regular Luepold that the front ring turns in the base, and the rear has 2 screws holding the ring? Or, are they Weaver style? You can get Burris Signature rings that have eccentric plastic rings that go into the steel rings. They'll give you more adjustment.

If I were to choose one load in that rifle it would be with Sierra 175 Match Kings. It would be good for almost any distance out to 1000 yards.

ok, i figured out the scope bases. i didnt realize the rear base had windage adjustment, which happened to be way off...

so how about any thoughts on the other questions...