Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9 mm major, again!

olp73

Any one care to share there 9mm major loads with me?

I am new to open and will soon start to load 9mm major. The gun is a small frame tanfoglio, so I can’t load long. Most of the loads I find here at the forum are intended for the 1911 platform, and has a longer OAL than std. I have hardly seen anything in published loading data that is close to major. And if it is, it has a lot less powder than what seem to be common among you guys.

Can it be that hybrids and comps lower the pressures that much? Or are the margins that big? As much as 2 gr. over max loads are not uncommon when using relatively slow powders.

I am grateful for all tips. I just want a starting point, - something to work with.

Tanks, Olp :surprise:

olp73,

a teammate of mine used to shoot a Tanfoglio open gun in 9x21mm with 2 port holes and 3-chambers compensator (barrel lenght 5.25").

His loads were:

7.3 grs of Vihtavuori N350, under a 124 grs RN plated bullet, C.O.L. 1.125", PF about 165.

7.1 grs of Winchester 540, under the same bullet, same C.O.L. , same PF.

He adviced he hasn't been able to reach Major PF with slower burning powders like Vihtavuori 3N37, but he hasn't experimented with small rifle primers, so YMMV.

olp73,

a teammate of mine used to shoot a Tanfoglio open gun in 9x21mm with 2 port holes and 3-chambers compensator (barrel lenght 5.25").

His loads were:

7.3 grs of Vihtavuori N350, under a 124 grs RN plated bullet, C.O.L. 1.125", PF about 165.

7.1 grs of Winchester 540, under the same bullet, same C.O.L. , same PF.

He adviced he hasn't been able to reach Major PF with slower burning powders like Vihtavuori 3N37, but he hasn't experimented with small rifle primers, so YMMV.