Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Draw Question

meltdown

I am new to practical shooting. At a match yesterday someone pointed out that when I draw

I get my weak hand in front of my strong hand for a second before my hands come together resulting in me "covering" my weak hand with the muzzle. What can I do to eliminate this?

While dry firing at home (you MUST dry fire to work out any kinks in your style) practice slapping your stomach/mid-chest area. Do this enough and it just becomes the way you draw.

From that position finish the draw like you normally would.

Yes, I did the "belly-slapping" thing until it became automatic. And as was said - It's paramount that you practice at home, forever, to train the basic movements of drawing and reloading, in addition to dry-firing.

be

Several weeks ago I also started from scratch. With the new baby and all, I wasn't dry firing like I used to. Somehow I got sloppy and every now and then when I draw, my left index finger found it's way inside the trigger guard. GAD!...horrible thing to do...!

So I started to go slow again and go through the motions. Being very concious about keeping my weak hand fingers straight and pointing relatively forward. Now, I'm starting to push it again and hopefully, get the speed (with accuracy) back. ;)

To add my $.02

Although its not been stated verbally, but nonetheless assumed, you are looking to get the gun from the holster to the firing position as soon as possible. That is the goal. But, to clarify, there are certain things you must not do, one of which (as you mentioned) is sweep the muzzle by your weak hand. The belly slap is pretty common to position the weak hand so that it slightly trails the strong hand with the gun to eliminate the possibility of the weak hand getting in front of the muzzle.