Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

A couple of questions on where to begin.

Walt

Hello,

My name is Walt and I am very new to everything Firearms. I bought my first rifle in August after shooting for the first time with a group of friends. I enjoyed the experience so much that I picked up one of the rifles I had the most fun with (Yugoslavian SKS) and immediately started thinking about my next purchase. A couple of months ago I started shopping around for a pistol. A few weeks ago I came across a pistol that I felt comfortable with and was in my price range (Beretta .380). After the purchase I talked to my wife about attending a class, which we completed two weeks ago (FIRST Steps Pistol offered by the NRA)

While attending the class I was given a competitive shooting booklet from my instructor for matches offered by the NRA. I thought that they looked great and looked into it further when I came across the world of USPSA and IDPA shooting. Since learning about these leagues I've been very interested in giving it a try.

Because of how new I am to shooting I want to hold off and get more comfortable with shooting in general before moving on to competitive shooting. With this game plan I want to possibly start attending USPSA shoots in 4-6 months time. This will give me some time to save up the cash needed for a larger caliber pistol (I'm looking into a 9mm but am unsure as to what make/model as I haven't been out to rent/shoot any yet).

With all that in mind I would like to possibly take some baby steps at this point. My idea being that I would like to get comfortable with the paper targets I would see at the matches. I have access to a large format plotter at work and was wondering if there is a resource for a full size image that I could print out and work with during normal range time?