Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Draw Time

686+

Disclaimer: I don't get to shoot or practice enough. I do all/most of my smithing. I am still learning.

I got a chance to shoot a match and then practice first shot times this weekend. The setup was steel plates at 11 yards, the plates were ~6x9 inches. My gear is a kydex uncle mikes holster and a DAO S&W the number of the model is 4583 - which means 45acp, 4-1/4 barrel, and DAO with about 9 lb of pull, farily smooth, but not "like buttah".

My time for the first shot beep to plate down was about 2.1 seconds, 1.9 if I push it and miss. Considering a DAO heavy trigger, how bad are those times?

Advice? (Other then go with a 1911ish platform? :D )

Doesn't sound too bad to me.

I found an old tape of me practicing first shots with a Sig 226, but it did have a nice trigger. I got them down into the 1.6x's but I'd say anything around 2.0 is pretty respectable. That was about six months after I started, but I was dry firing a lot back then, almost seven years ago.

With a 1911 and a DOH kydex, I'm down around 1.30 comfortably, really pushing it gets it down to 1.0 but I miss as many as I hit at that speed.

Just before the FL Section a couple months back, I hit a .92 first shot and 2.49 for six plates. I'm not known for speed, but those were both personal bests for me.

Edited by dirtypool40

I shoot plenty of Revolver & Auto I am within 1 - 10th with the Revolver as the Auto on a smaller plate. But that is with Steel Challenge rig.

Just do it and always work to get better. That size plate for me I would want a time at 1.20, BUT! I have ben at it for 16 years, and plenty are doing it faster. But most are slower. Try some practice with 100% shurr of the hit and see what your time is, thin speed up to jsut 50% shurr of getting a hit and check the time. Back off of that by 1/2 the dif and you have your goal time for the next few months.