Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Wtk: Proper Way To Prep Cases Before Loading?

Hog Sniper

*********I posted this here becasue the reloading forum doesnt get get much traffic and most of my loads are going to be for a revolver.....

I'm just getting into reloading and would like to know how you guys clean/prep you brass for reloading?? 40 and 45 acp. Thats it..Any help would be great.

Gary

I take spent cases (or new) and tumble them in corncob media for 3 hours. I use some case polish as directed, I don't really have a preference for brand. I sift the cases to separate the media from the cases, I use a Dillon media separator for this task. I usually tumble 2000 cases at a time in my huge Dillon tumbler. I have some large plastic boxes with a lid, I put all the cleaned cases in these boxes until they're needed.

Cases don't really need to be super bright with perfect shine. You're mainly cleaning the cases so that they won't damage the reloading dies with grit. Clean cases makes inspection a bit easier too.

When it's time to load, I take an old baking pan and fill it with brass lying flat. I hit these cases with some Hornady One-Shot, rattle them around in the pan, and hit them again with the One-Shot. I'm picky about my lube, One-Shot lubes well but doesn't need to be cleaned off the cases once they're loaded. It's not gummy and doesn't foul the loading dies with gunk, even still you'll need to clean your dies and press - I do this every 1000 rounds. Once lubed I let the lube dry and then dump the cases into the hopper of my Dillon 650.

From there, I use the progressive press to build the ammo.