Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Anybody Useing A Rcbs 6 Hole Turret?

steel1212

I'm only loading about 500 rounds a month right now on my single stage and its just a pain. I was looking at the 550/650 and by the time I get one with everything I would need to switch calibers and all I would be between 600-800$. I know the turret wouldn't be as fast as say a 650 but there would be less things for me to look after, read screw up, and I already have the parts I need to switch calibers other than the extra turrets.

I have been using a Lyman T Mag for quite a few years and it does everything I need it to do..Maybe not as fast as a Dillon but serves me well. I load several calibers so the ease of changing calibers is great also..May load two or three hundred at a time or one or two K for a seasons worth..Did I say that time and speed are not such a big thing and enjoy loading almost as much as shooting...

I'm in a similar boat and was leaning towards the RCBS turret or maybe the Lee Classic turret. Lately I've been thinking the Hornady LnL AP progressive is a pretty good deal, more so with the cabelas offer they have through the end of the year...

A turret press isn't on the same planet as a 650. It's kind of difficult for me to think in terms of "rounds per hour" from my turret days using the batch process, but the 650 is light years ahead of what I could ever do.

500 rounds a month IS a little low for that kind of money though. You'd be done reloading for the month in 30 minutes.

Back before I started with real progressives with the first SDB (another possible option), I found that the auto-indexing Lee turret press was a definite step up from straight batch reloading. 200 - 500 rounds is a good amount with this press, but it gets old if you need much more (talking about a single session).