Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Installing A New Trigger On An Sti

austinkroe

I will preface the question with the statement that I have no actual gunsmithing knowledge. I also did a search and found nothing to answer this question.

I have an STI 2011 that I would like to put a new trigger in. I am thinking either the SV insert type or the STI gunsmith blank. I want to try a flat trigger. However my gunsmith is quite far away from me and I dont really want to have to search out a new one close to me that I have to learn to trust.

Will I need to take it to a smith to have it installed or can I do it myself?

Would a new trigger affect the weight of the pull?

What all adjustments need to be made to a new trigger to make it work besides the usual overtravel stop(I can do that)?

Any additional comments that I might not know about to facilitate this idea?

Any reccomendations on STI vs SV trigger system (keeping in mind I only want to change trigger shape)?

TIA

If you can completely strip your gun down and put it back together you can change the trigger. Make sure the new trigger moves freely like the one you are taking out. It should not change the trigger pull.

My preference is the SV trigger with the insert. You can swap inserts without taking the gun apart.

Jaxshooter,

Actually you do need to take it apart to change the insert as there is a set screw holding it in place. I just went through that a couple months back as one end busted and I had to install the replacement.

You may want to check yours out if you can swap it out on the gun without pulling it out to get at the set screw...

In my expierence, the SV trigger bow is often longer than the STI bow. This can cause a problem if the trigger can't slide far enough forward in the grip and replicate the position of your old trigger bow. You might have to either bend the bow to the desired shape, or put the SVI trigger on the STI bow.