Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

550b Questions?

I am in process of acquiring a used 550B that has produced about 10K .45 rounds. Unfortunately, I do not shoot .45 and will be converting this to a .40 setup. To this end, since I have to purchase new dies, I am wondering what dies would be best for someone that will be shooting range brass with Precision Bullets (Redding, Lee, or stick with Dillion) in a Glock? Do I need an EGW die? Also, does it make sense to buy a new powder measure or should I be comfortable with the used unit? Any suggestions for tuning up/lubricating or changing out parts on a used press like this before starting out? I am new to reloading, so will have a lot of dumb questions.

Thanks,

Doug

10K rounds is almost new.

Everyone had ides preference, I prefer:

Lee 'U' Die

Redding Comp Seater (for 45 I use the Dillon)

Dillon Crimp

In 45, the Lee 'U' die isn't as important, but it does help the rounds gauge cleaner.

The used powder measure should be fine.. If it's the spring return (old style) unit, make sure the springs are good.

A little Kroil on the major arm pivots helped my used one a lot.

I like the U die for forty and use Dillon dies for the rest of the set up. You mentioned "range brass" and I am assuming you mean range pick up stuff that could have been fired once or ten times and in Glocks or other handguns.

If so, the U die is, IMO, important for resizing different brass fired differing times in different guns. There is at least one big thread here on U dies and there are, of course, differing opinions on them.

If I can, let me recommend you skip range pick ups and just buy either new or once fired, roll sized brass. Proper sizing, IMO, will be much easier with many less culls.

The U die will still be important, again, IMO, since you are using a Glock.

Bob

Since I will be getting two tool heads with the setup, does it make sense to run the brass through a regular resize die before going to the U die?