Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Benelli Modification

Richard L

Hi Guys:

I'm a Deputy Sheriff in Texas and don't play the game. I try to keep up with what is going on with game guns because in technical terms you guys know your shit. I've been carrying a 12" 1100 for about 10 years and after finding this forum and surfing for a while I went out and bought a Benelli M1 Super 90. I called Benny and talked to him about doing some work that I'm not familiar with, but thought I'd post some questions here.

1) Can someone explain the lightened bolt? What recoil spring should I put behind a lightened bolt light or heavy, Wolf or Benelli, I carry heavy buck, but would like the gun to run with tactical buck. Will a light bolt beat the gun to death with heavy buck?

2) Round on the carrier mod. Can the notch in the bottom of the bolt be machined from the notch to the rear of the bolt in order to prevent the breach bolt latch from catching when the bolt is closed with a round on the carrier as opposed to welding the notch up or will this screw up the timing?

3) I know you guys like long barrels for the extra rounds but try searching a trailer house or smaller area with a long barrel. I am about to submit a form 1 and would consider a 14" gun but prefer 12" do any of you have any experience with Benelli's shorter than 14". It should work (recoil operated) but if anyone has had any experience with this I'd like to hear.

4) I've got an M4 butstock that I bought for a different project and was looking at the M4 on the Benelli website. I figure I could put an M4 recoil spring tube assembly on the M1 Super 90 and then machine the tube to work as a collapsible stock. I already tried the pistol grip from the stock and it fits the back of the M1 receiver like it was made for it. Comments?

Thanks'

Richard

Edited by Richard L