Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Front Site shotgun article

BigDave

I have read the new Front Site article on shotguns for 3-gun.  As I read it, basically the author is stating that the Winchester SX-2/Browning Gold Striker is the fastest cycling shotgun on the planet.  Fine.

I own a Benelli M1-Super 90.  While doing some Bill Drills with my SV, I decided to get the Beneilli out since I had never really put it through its paces.  I loaded up six rounds just to see how it times-out against my SV.  The average split was .20 with the fastest being .17.  Again, this is really the first time I have cranked on this gun.  Now, being the novice know-nothing I really am, who on earth can (1) control (2) swing any loaded 12ga to need a split under .15????  

Those six I ripped off made me just giddy, it really did.  But, is speed like one see's in a Bill Drill, common in a 3-gun match with a shotgun.  Does one really need a gun that can split at or under .12????

I'm a know nothin newbie and I surmise that what matters in winning a shotgun stage is the same thing that matters in shooting a handgun stage, namely the number of steps you need to take to see all the targets.  Of course having said that, next months shotgun side match will be a bill drill......

I don't see it being a big deal. I can run .12 splits with my pistol, TJ runs .18-.20. He's also kicks my ass everytime. Reliability is more important. I think somebody has a new toy and wants to brag on it. When I get to the point that I'm so damn fast that .12 splits make a difference  it still won't matter cause noone else will be close to that speed. The shooting is easy its all the other little things that make the difference. Shoot what you ahve and don't worry. I'm keeping my Remington and Benelli.