Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Xd Fte Help

Z-man

I've recently been having troubles with my Springfield XD 9 tactical. The gun has run really smooth, but the last couple months its had several FTE's. Occasionaly the slide will lock back because the empty case stays in the chamber and the next round hits it (locking the slide open). I'm not sure whether I'm using bad ammo (my reloads, that I case gage religously) but it doesn't seem to be that. It seems as though the extractor is slipping off the empty case rim, because if I drop the mag and the slide forward, it'll extract the round. If anyone has some ideas, I'd really appreciate it. One shooter thought that the extractor spring needs to be replaced as it didn't seem very tense. I'm pretty new to the gun (and am no gunsmith!) so any advice would be greatly appreciated. Also, is there anything that can be done without shipping the gun off to Springfield (they won't mail extra parts at this point)? It's pretty frustrating to always wonder if the gun is going to jam at some point (today it jammed like this TWICE during a classifier :angry: ).

Thanks, I had read your thread the other day and thought YES, exactly the same things are happening to me... I just couldn't find the darn thread again so I thought I'd post anyways. The shooter that mentioned the extractor spring idea shoots a glock and may have assumed a spring is involved... but after looking at the gun (and posting) I realized the mistake. You mentioned on your post that the problem has been solved after polishing the chamber. Was it very difficult to do?

Z-Man,

It's an easy job. I used Flitz and XRe's suggestion on the felt wheel (see that thread). Be patient and use a slow and smooth in-an-out motion.

Please post your results and whether it solved your FTE's.