Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Production Or Limited 10?

mscott

I'll be shooting my first USPSA match Sunday and can't decide which way to go or if it even matters. I am planning on shooting both since I was told you can re-shoot for a small fee, but not for score. I'm not new to shooting, but I am new to this particular game. I have a Springfield 1911 in .40S&W and a G35 and enough mags, pouches, etc. for either. Single stack is not being used at this range yet. I have more experience with the 1911, but the Glock impresses me in handling and accuracy every time I take it out. I also have both major and minor loads ready to go. I guess my question is which class should a new guy start with?

Honest answer, it really doesn't matter, unless your gear is out of whack for the division. If you plan on shooting both it's not an issue. If you can only shoot one, pick the one that offers up the most fun. FWIW, shooters are seperated by their equipment (division) and by their ability (class).

Based on what you said I think you may as well flip a coin.

It doesn't really matter.

If I had to make a recommendation I guess I would say start out in production with the Glock.

I say this only because new shooters need to focus on safe gun handling.

With the 1911 you have to start cocked and locked, and release the safety on the draw.

With the Glock you don't have to deal with that.

It is just one less thing for a newbie to have to think about.

You don't need to rush through the course, speed comes with experience. Get your hits.

The minor scoring in production places a premium on accuracy.

It might be the best division for you to ease into.

Tls

Edited by tlshores

You will only get to shoot the second gun on the one qualifier stage [and pay for it], not for the entire match. Qualifiers tend to be very short courses of fire.